Pumpkin Pie Spice

spicy blendsWhile I was digging out my cookbooks I pulled out my Herb Mixtures & Spicy Blends book as well. I love all the different mixes and blends that are in this book. They have recipes for herbal butters, rubs, teas and much more. I have tried a few of the blends and loved each one I used. The recipe I have used the most is their Pumpkin Pie Spice. They actually have several pumpkin pie spice blends, but this one is my favorite. I made it up and kept it in a glass canning jar to be used when I made holiday pies. With the holidays fast approaching, this is a good mix to make up and have ready.

Yield 1/2 cup

Ingredients

  • 5 tablespoons ground cinnamon
  • 4 teaspoons ground ginger
  • 2 teaspoons ground cloves
  • 2 teaspoons ground nutmeg
  • 2 teaspoons ground allspice

Mix with a whisk to blend and store in an air tight container away from heat and light. Suggested use is 1 and 1/2 teaspoon in pie filling mix. But more ca be added to taste.

Leave a Reply

