Chicken Spaghetti

chicken spaghetti

My last post was about processing some of the extra roosters I had. I put two birds in the freezer and the largest roo I put directly in a pot. I had decided to make Chicken Spaghetti out of him. I remember when I first moved to Texas and heard the term Chicken Spaghetti, I could not for the life of me figure why someone would add chicken to a red spaghetti sauce as that is what I imagined Chicken Spaghetti to be. But one day, at a church supper, I finally got a chance to taste this dish and is most definitely is not chicken in a red sauce. It is a lightly spiced and cheesy dish that is an excellent and tasty recipe to feed small armies, like a church supper, economically. Not only is it easy on the budget is also does not take a lot of time. This time, rather than feed a multitude, I was going to feed myself for a few weeks.

IMG_4429I put the rooster in a large pot and covered most of him with water. He was a good sized bird so part of him stuck up above the water no matter what way he was put in the pot. I turned the burner on a low/medium setting and kept an eye on him. I brought the water to a simmer and kept turning the bird until he cooked completely through and the meat was ready to fall off the bones. I then removed the bird to a large plate to cool.

IMG_4431 To the remaining liquid chicken broth I added a package of spaghetti. I allowed the spaghetti to cook as I removed the meat from the bones of the chicken. As you remove the meat you want to either pull it into smaller pieces or cut it into bite sized chunks. Once the spaghetti was cooked I took a look at the remaining liquid. I wanted a little water but not enough so that it was above the level of the cooked spaghetti. I poured off some of the broth until the liquid was about half the height of the layer of cooked noodles. Being always frugal I poured this into a container and added it to the dogs dinner that night.

IMG_4432To the cooked spaghetti and water I added one can of Cream of Chicken soup, one can of Rotel Diced Tomatoes & Green Chilies, without draining and about half a large brick of Velveeta. I have seen recipes that use Creme of Mushroom soup instead of the Chicken as well. You might have to try this recipe and just see what you prefer. I turned the heat off and also add the chicken meat and started stirring. You want to keep stirring until the cheese is melted and everything is evenly distributed. I do a taste test at this time and if not enough cheese I add more Velveeta.

IMG_4446 (1)Once everything was mixed I scooped portions into some plastic containers.Then I let them sit and cool a bit before I put them in the freezer. I ended up with 11 containers for lunches. That will feed me for the next two weeks. considering the amount of time I am spending in the garden these days, it is nice I will not have to spend an afternoon making up lunches anytime soon.

In addition to the variation of using Creme of Mushroom I have also had Chicken Spaghetti with shredded Cheddar added to the top. Some people also add peppers or make a casserole out of this recipe. A search on Google will give several variations so you are sure to find one to suite you. I have always made this using an entire chicken as my starting point. If you live alone and do not want two weeks worth of food in the freezer, you may have to adapt the recipe using some store bought chicken breasts and reducing the amount of  the other ingredients. No matter how this is made, it is delicious and worth trying.

Leave a Reply

